Crop progress report

July 27 - Green machines

July 27 - Green machines

CKOWers, I’m happy to report that the crops continue to head skyward. The corn measures about 5 feet, 2 inches as of today and the beans top out around 26 inches. I expect to see tassels on the corn this week, which marks the start of the crucial pollination phase.

Fun corn factoid #1: Corn, a member of the grass family, is descended from a wild plant called teosinthe and is believed to have been domesticated in the highlands of central Mexico 7,000 to 10,000 years ago.

Share Share

5 responses to “Crop progress report

  1. I moved down to Florida from Ohio a couple of years ago, and I miss the CORN!

    I stumbled upon your blog, and being reminded of corn in the fall just made me smile.

    katie
    http://squidart.wordpress.com

  2. When will you get some corn rows to go with your crop?

  3. What a good Iowa boy you are! I love that you are doing this.

    If you haven’t yet seen the documentary King Corn I highly recommend it.

  4. Hey CKOW, my crowd just attended the 62nd annual Mendota Sweet Corn Festival in Mendota Illinois, respectively. We were happy to review and learn some new facts about corn. The sweet corn was delicious and your goddaughter calls it one of her favorites! We cannot wait to visit your “green” roof and view the fruits of your hard work. By the way, I too attended the Cubs first complete night game with Mrs. CKOW.

Leave a Reply

